The Nintendo Download – 7/19/12

Unfortunately, this week’s Nintendo Download brings nothing new for Wii owners, though Nintendo DSi owners get a couple of releases. But if you own a Nintendo 3DS? You’re golden.

The trilogy is complete! Kicking things off this week is Kid Icarus: Of Myths and Monsters, the 1991 Game Boy sequel to the original NES game. Along with 3D Classics: Kid Icarus and Kid Icarus Uprising, you can now enjoy all of Pit’s adventures (well, save for Super Smash Bros. Brawl, if you count that) on your Nintendo 3DS! $3.99 is all it will cost you to make the trilogy complete.

Continuing the fun of Nintendo’s “8-bit Summer” is Tumble Pop, a $2.99 one-player arcade action platformer in which you get to save the world from all manner of menaces using a vacuum cleaner. Hey, if it works for Luigi…

Also added to the Nintendo eShop is a brand-new title, The Phantom Thief Stina and 30 Jewels. It’s a futuristic battle between a master thief, an ace detective, and their respective crews of robots as you seek to claim all of the game’s eponymous 30 jewels for your very own. $4.99 is what it will take to get you in on the action, strategy, and puzzles of this “simulation.”

Masyu by Nikoli is another classic-styled puzzle from Nikoli, who gave the famed Sudoku-style puzzle its name, and gives you 50 puzzles for $4.99.

This week’s “Game of the Weekend” deal is Mario’s Picross, which will be available for $2.99 ($1 off) from 9am PST/Noon EST on Friday, July 20th through 9pm PST/Midnight EST on Sunday, July 22nd. I’ve not played the game for myself yet, but I’ve seen people raving about it, so now may be a good time to give it a shot!

The newest Nintendo Video will be added tomorrow, July 20th, at 3pm PST/6pm EST, and features College Humor’s Dinosaur Office. In this episode, “Craig takes a sick day to stay at home, but that doesn’t stop his nosy coworkers from interrupting his precious R&R time.”

Finally, both Nintendo DSi owners as well as those with a Nintendo 3DS can partake in these two titles. Rabi X Lady Episode 2 (or just Rabi Lady 2, depending on where you look) continues the adventures of Alice and Rabi as they defy the evil Queen who has ordered their capture and seek to return home in this $1.99 puzzle/strategy game for one player.

Then there is Petit Computer, a most intriguing entry in this week’s Nintendo Download. While the price is a hefty $7.99, this tool allows you to create your own BASIC programs, including images, music, and even your own games!

And that is everything on tap for this week! Be sure to click the corresponding links above to find out more information on each of these titles.

Tags

About the author

David Oxford

David Oxford is a freelance writer of many varied interests. If you're interested in hiring him, please drop him a line at david.oxford (at) nyteworks.net.